Other Pseudo Commando Mass Murderers

“Julian Knight - The Hoddle St Massacre” 

Other Pseudo Commando Mass Murderers

Other Pseudo Commando Mass Murderers

PDFPrintE-mail

Mass murder in general is defined as offences in which five or more victims are intentionally and unlawfully killed by a single offender in a single incident. This definition does not have a cut-off point in regard to distance but the arbitrary cut-off point for time is 24 hours.

Pseudocommando mass murderers can be defined as those mass murderers who intentionally and unlawfully kill five or more non-relations (i.e. strangers or workmates) with a firearm or a number of firearms in a single para-military style raid.

Although mass murders committed with firearms have occurred since firearms were invented, pseudocommando mass murderers are a rare phenomenon. Since 1945 there have been dozens of incidences of mass murder in every region of the world. There has, however, been an increase in the late 1980s. Although every region of the world has had incidences of pseudocommando mass murder, the United States of America has had by far the greatest number of incidences of this type of offence, particularly in the states of California and New York.

Even though the statistics relating to these offences and to the perpetrators varies greatly, some general observations can be made. The average number of victims for these incidents is 11 killed and 9 wounded, with a range of 5 to 35 and 0 to 30 respectively, and with a range of total casualties of 5 to 53. These incidents also tend to occur during the hours of 6am-6pm, on a day falling within the range Sunday to Thursday, and most often during the months of July, August and September.

Pseudocommando mass murderers tend to be male paranoid loners, aged between 22-47 with a mean age of 35, who are white, single and have a preoccupation with firearms with a corresponding background in the military or law enforcement. They also tend to commit their raids after long deliberation and then either force the police to kill them in a shoot-out or they commit suicide at the conclusion of their raids. The weapons used by these individuals are most often semi-automatic rifles - especially the AK47 military assault rifle - or semi-automatic pistols. It is also common for a combination of weapons to be used.

The following is a list of 43 cases of pseudocommando mass murderers which gives the following information - if known - for each case: name of perpetrator, age of perpetrator, date of incident, location of incident, number of dead and wounded and the fate of the perpetrator.

01: Franz Wagner , 39: Thu 4 Sep 13: Mühlausen, Erfurt, Germany: 9 dead, 12 wounded: captured by police and interned in a mental hospital

02: Howard Unruh , 28: Tue 6 Sep 49: Camden, New Jersey, USA: 13 dead, 3 wounded: captured by police and interned in a mental hospital

03: Charles Whitman , 25: Mon 1 Aug 66: University of Texas, Austin, Texas, USA: 16 dead, 30 wounded: shot dead by police

04: Leo Held , 39: Tue 24 Oct 67: Loganton, Pennsylvania, USA: 6 dead, 6 wounded: shot dead by police

05: Mark Essex , 23: Sun 7 Jan 73: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA: 9 dead, 12 wounded: shot dead by police

06: Edward Allaway , 37: Jul 76: University of California, Fullerton, California, USA: 7 dead, 2 wounded: captured by police and interned in a mental hospital

07: Frederick Cowan , 33: Mon 14 Feb 77: New Rochelle, New York, USA: 6 dead, 4 wounded: committed suicide

08: Alvin King , 48: Sun 22 Jun 80: Dangerfield, Texas, USA: 5 dead, 10 wounded: captured by police and later committed suicide

09: Abdelkrim Belachheb , 39: Fri 29 Jun 84: Dallas Texas, USA: 6 dead, 1 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

10: James Huberty , 41: Wed 18 Jul 84: San Ysidro, San Diego, California, USA: 21 dead, 19 wounded: shot dead by police

11: Gilbert Archibeque , 29: Sun 18 May 86: Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA: 5 dead, 1 wounded: committed suicide

12: Patrick Sherrill , 44: Thu 21 Aug 86: Edmonds, Oklahoma, USA: 14 dead, 6 wounded: committed suicide

13: Campo Delgado , 52: Thu 4 Dec 86: Bogotá, Columbia: 28 dead: shot dead by police

14: William Cruse , 59: Thu 23 Apr 87: Palm Bay, Florida, USA: 6 dead, 10 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to death

15: Julian Knight , 19: Sun 9 Aug 97: Clifton Hill, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia: 7 dead, 19 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life/27 years imprisonment

16: Michael Ryan , 27: Wed 19 Aug 87: Hungerford, Berkshire, England: 16 dead, 16 wounded: committed suicide

17: Frank Vitkovic , 22: Tue 8 Dec 87: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia: 8 dead, 5 wounded: committed suicide

18: Richard Farley , 39: Tue 16 Feb 88: Sunnyvale, California, USA: 7 dead, 3 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to death

19: Barend Strydom , 23: Tue 15 Nov 88: Pretoria, Transvaal, South Africa: 8 dead, 16 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to death - commuted to life imprisonment in 1991 - released in 1992

20: Patrick Purdy , 26: Tue 17 Jan 89: Stockton, California, USA: 5 dead, 30 wounded: committed suicide

21: Christian Dornier , 31: Thu 13 Jul 89: Luxiol, Doubs, France: 14 dead, 9 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

22: Joseph Wesbecker , 47: Fri 15 Sep 89: Louisville, Kentucky, USA: 7 dead, 15 wounded: committed suicide

23: Marc Lépine , 25: Wed 6 Dec 89: University of Montreal, Montreal, Quebec, Canada: 14 dead, 15 wounded: committed suicide

24: Ami Popper , 21: Sun 20 May 90: Rishon le Zion, Central, Israel: 7 dead, 15 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

25: James Pough , 42: Mon 18 Jun 90: Jacksonville, Florida, USA: 8 dead, 5 wounded: committed suicide

26: Paul Evers , 35: Thu 30 Aug 90: Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia: 5 dead: captured by police and sentenced to 18/25 years imprisonment

27: Felix Zehetner , 22: Sun 9 Sep 90: Vienna, Austria: 5 dead, 19 wounded: committed suicide

28: David Gray , 33: Tue 13 Nov 90: Aramoana, South Island, New Zealand: 13 dead, 3 wounded: shot dead by police

29: Wade Frankum , 33: Sat 17 Aug 91: Strathfield, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia: 7 dead, 6 wounded: committed suicide

30: George Hennard , 35: Thu 17 Oct 91: Killeen, Texas, USA: 23 dead, 22 wounded: committed suicide

31: Gang Lu , 28: Sat 2 Nov 91: University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa, USA: 5 dead, 1 wounded: committed suicide

32: Erminio Criscione , 37: Thu 5 Mar 92: Lugano, Switzerland: 6 dead, 6 wounded: captured by police and later committed suicide

33: Malcolm Baker , 45: Tue 27 Oct 92: Central Coast, New South Wales, Australia: 6 dead, 1 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

34: Lynwood Drake , 43: Sun 8 Nov 92: Morro Bay, Paso Robles, California, USA: 6 dead, 1 wounded: committed suicide

35: Gian Ferri , 55: Fri 2 Jul 93: San Francisco, California, USA: 8 dead, 6 wounded: committed suicide

36: Valery Fabrikant , 53: Tue 24 Aug 93: Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada: 5 dead, 1 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

37: Colin Ferguson , 34: Wed 8 Dec 93: Long Island, New York, USA: 6 dead, 18 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

38: Eric Borel , 16: Sun 24 Sep 95: Sollies-Pont & Cuers, Var, France: 12 dead, 8 wounded: committed suicide

39: Thomas Hamilton , 43: Wed 13 Mar 96: Dunblane, Central, Scotland: 17 dead, 12 wounded: committed suicide

40: Martin Bryant , 28: Sun 28 Apr 96: Port Arthur, Tasmania, Australia: 35 dead, 18 wounded: captured by police and sentenced to life imprisonment

41: Mohammed al-Nadhiri , 42: Sun 30 Mar 97: Sanaa, Yemen: 6 dead: captured by police and sentenced to death and later executed

42: Mark Barton , 44: Thu 29 Jul 99: Atlanta, Georgia, USA: 9 dead, 12 wounded: committed suicide

43: Byran Uyesugi , 40: Wed 3 Nov 99: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA: 7 dead,: captured by police

 

.
Web Analytics